Tom on GPS indicator

Tom Hume writes about the customer interest in GPS and a way of representing it in the mobile user interface and goes on to say:
“Personally, I think this battery-style metaphor should also be used for other things too, like data usage. I want to see my “data allowance” for the month gradually run down as I use it; if I could see this I’d get a feel for how much I was spending, how fast I was burning through it, and what my most expensive interactions are – in much the same way that watching my battery indicator fall over time tells me that constant 3G or bluetooth usage is a power-drain without my having to understand anything about stored current, battery technology, or Bluetooth power consumption.”

I like it!

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

